Patience : Another lesson learnt through motherhood 


Motherhood teaches you many things, things you never knew you were capable of. It makes you realise how strong you are, yet so weak. It teaches you to be so organised, yet so care free. It teaches you to be so powerful, yet so overwhelmed. One thing that it definitely has taught me is patience. And it has come slowly, with each passing day. 

I was not as calm,composed & patient a person from day one, as I would have liked to be. In fact, it took me a lot of time to adjust and learn to be patient, and not to be stressed and frustrated with so many things happening around me, so many things which were out of my control, things around my life which I could not keep organised; try as I might. 
Truth is, as a new mom, it ended up making me frustrated and impatient very easily. I have always been a busy person, always trying to get out the most of my day. Always rushing and trying to keep myself one step ahead of my day. Trying to keep everything and all the things around me, as organised as possible. Suffice to say I was not a person who liked to waste time much. I did relax and unwind too, but was busier most of the times. And When you have a baby, the work increases ten fold. You have a hundred more things to do, and babies dont run as per timetables. Result is you are more stressed and loosing your shit within a year of new mommyhood. But then, right in the middle of your predicament, you learn to find peace, you learn to be patient and relax. The tiny, disorganised, pooping, spitting tot teaches you that, he teaches you to sit back and laugh at giggles for no reason, he teaches you to kiss away your blues, he teaches you to relax even when the world around you is not that perfect anymore, your clothes don’t fit anymore 🙄, your hair is never clean anymore. 
Baby A has taught me patience, I thought I was a patient person before, But, then again I also used to think I was tired before 😂, I had no bloody idea about the truth. It was him who taught me that it is ok to relax, ok to live in the giggles & tears, to stop and smell the roses in real. 
He is the one who has taught me that it is so important to stand at the window and just look out at the world, though it is the same everyday and yet learn to enjoy it and its mundane ways. So just stand at the window for some time, today, everyday. 

Leave a Reply

