Project:50 toddler snacks by #avgmom No2. Apple Banana Oats Pancakes

Project #50toddlersnacks from #avgmomNo. 2 #applebananaoatspancakes

I have been a bit lazy lately and have been unable to pen down anything. The extreme cold weather, some personal works and a small vacation all have kept me rather busy. Also, truth be told I was also just being lazy and avoiding sitting down to write anything. Little A keeps me on my toes the whole day and frankly I am dead tired by the end of the day. Toddlers are a handful I tell you. The whole day just flies by in preparing his meals, feeding, cleaning, and dressing him, all the while whilst he is putting up a fight against each of the activities. 😂.

In trying to keep up with my efforts to include as many fruits and vegetables as possible in his diet, I try to put them in his main meals as much as possible. This helps me include seasonal fruits / veggies in his diet and even his meals are interesting for him.

This apple banana pancake is a special favourite of my son and I am super happy as I am able to include a lot of good ingredients in this one. They taste awesome too, so all three of us relish these. 

But I really do wish I had better photos though, frankly, cooking for a toddler is not a leisurely activity. You are just about able to rush through the whole thing and dump it in a plate while he is behaving like a creeper determined to make you trip and fall on your face. Thus, the hastily clicked photos. Mostly I just forget to click any photos before serving him.

Nowadays, I have completely removed refined flour (maida) from my kitchen. Thus I am always trying out new substitutes for the same. What I use regularly nowadays is oats. I find oats very diverse and very easy to use. For most purposes I use instant, plain oats which have no added sugars. Many people use the steel cut variety, but as far as I understand that nutritionally both steel cut and instant oats are same. Instant oats is more processed thus takes lesser time to cook. Since the nutritional value is same, I prefer using the instant variety. I don’t however buy the packets with added sugars or flavours etc but only the plain oats.

To use in my day to day cooking, I dry roast a large batch of the instant oats and powder them in my blender. I store this in an airtight container and use this regularly in place of breadcrumbs / flour etc. The slightly nutty flavour of the oats gives any dish an enhanced flavour and it acts as a very good binding agent. 

This pancake below is a complete win win for me as I am able to include apple, banana, eggs and oats all in one dish. And the baby likes it. Yay. Thank God for that.

Ingredients :

Apple – 1/2 (grated)

Ripe Banana – 1/2 (mashed)

Egg -1

Roasted oats powder – 1/2 cup

Unsalted butter – 2 tbsp (melted)

Brown sugar – 1 tbsp

Cinnamon powder – 1 tsp

Milk – 1/2 cup or as required

Butter for frying

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and make a slightly thick batter. 
Add milk as per requirement, the batter should not be very runny but like a normal pancake batter

On a warm skillet scoop out 2-3 tbsps of the mix to make round pancakes

Cook on low heat till one side is done and then flip it.

Use a flat spatula for this, since we are not using refined flour the pancake will be a little hard to flip. It just needs a bit more patience. 😊

Once flipped I drop a sizeable dollop of butter on the cooked side of the pancake and let it melt, since little A likes butter ( of course, who doesn’t). But this is optional.

I serve these plain to him, without any syrup or sauce as he not a big fan of sweet. But you can serve these with honey or maple syrup too.

There are a couple of variations too which I do for this. When little A was smaller I used steamed and pureed apple in place of grated apples. Now I use grated apple for this.

And also at times I use only apple or banana, if both are not available.

3 thoughts on “Project:50 toddler snacks by #avgmom No2. Apple Banana Oats Pancakes

Leave a Reply

